Almost Gave Up

The voices in my head are fucking awful to me.

They are the echoes of things people have said to me all my life.  The reason I quit before I find success usually.

“I don’t know why you’re trying”

“You’re not going to get any better”

“You’re not good enough”

“You never finish anything anyhow so it doesn’t matter”

The thing with those voices… is they drown out any determination or motivation or desires I have.

So I set up a challenge 5 days ago.  Burpees and squats.

Last challenge I set up I got to day 10 before failing falling off the wagon.

I meant to catch up.

I never did.

And then I started another challenge.  5 days ago.

And 5 days in…. I’m 2 days behind.

Easy catch up.  It’s at the beginning, do 2 days in 1 for 2 days and I’m caught up.

And the voices kicked in…

And it’s my period.

And I’m running late.

And…. then another voice kicked in.

“I’m really proud of you for coming out running with me.”

Now…. understand that running with her was more of me doing a run/walk while she ran ahead and back.

But her voice stuck in my head.

I did my 2 days of burpees and squats.

And here I am.  Finding my motivation.

Because ONE positive encouraging voice overwhelmed years of voices that beat up on me.

And for today?  I feel stronger and more determined.

Motivation Quote

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

