New Muscles!!!

So my whole derby career I’ve had an issue with my feet. My right foot especially.

I hop on my toe stops…and my right foot has a shooting pain in the ball of my foot.

It makes toe stop work… difficult.

So I managed I worked around it.

I played without going on my toe stops as much as possible.

Finally – I found a solution.  Tape my 3rd and 4th toes together.

Holy hell.  No more pain. I can go up on my toe stops.

And now? I have a new problem.

My calf muscles… specifically the fibularis longus, is freaking SCREAMING at me now.

peroneus-longus.png

See that? Up there?  The issue I was having was where the first metatarsal bone met the first phalange.  That’s right above the point where the fibularis longus tendon meets the medial cuneiform.

So I tape the 3rd and 4th toes together, and it solved my problem with the pain.  Now… the pain has moved.

I’ve discovered new muscles.  This will be a temporary issue for me – unless I find a solution sooner rather than later, but holy CRAP new muscles!

I think the most interesting thing about this… is not only how interconnected everything is, but also the fact that it fascinated me figuring this stuff out.

I love derby. I love anatomy.  Its fun that I get to intersect the two.

 

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Roller Derby and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

