Derby Love

And then there’s that moment…

… when you have a fantastic hit on an opposing team member.

… when you manage to do what you’re supposed to and hold back the jammer.

… when you get separated from your team and instead of just hanging around uselessly, you fuck up their shit and your jammer gets through.

… when you’re blocking and an opposing team member elbows you so hard in the chin that you’re seriously thinking you may have a concussion (I didn’t, or if I do it’s seriously mild)

…when you come back from resting from said hit (half a game and 3 hours between) and tell the coach you’d like to jam…that you’ll let him know when you’re able to.

… when your coach puts you on the jammer roster immediately so you’re jamming EVERY. FOUR. JAMS.

… when you find your strength in jamming and you make some spectacular (for you) plays.

… when you are able to hold your own without too many concessions or handicaps while jamming.

… when you realize you’ve jammed half a game and are ready for more.

… when you’re playing blocker for the 2nd half and figure out how to go from offence to defence and do it well.

… when people compliment you on your strength and your ability to jam and you’re not quite sure how to take it.

… when you realize.. that as ambivalent as you may have been about going… it was the best thing that could have happened to get your focus back on the sport you love.

… when your spouse supports and encourages you to play… to travel… to practise… and is willing to push you to do it.

… those are the moments that you’ll remember.  Because they make derby awesome.

Today was an amazing day of learning, growing, and playing to my strengths… both the ones I was aware of and the ones I didn’t know I had.

I played, I got hurt, I played some more…and I had so much fun.

Derby Love people!  Derby love…

I love my sport!

16833685_10155092189501474_713393837_o

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Roller Derby, Self-esteem and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

