Getting Back Into Derby…

Really this is about getting back to fitness.  I’ve had a LOT of changes in my life in the past 4 months or so. And because of those changes, life has gotten in the way of exercise.  And as a result, I’m having to reboot.

So tonight, I lay on the couch, snuggling a very sexxy chef…and the urge to get back there and be accountable was somewhat overwhelming.

I wanted to skip derby tonight.  But I wanted to go more than I wanted to skip.

I want to be fit, healthy, and comfortable in my skin.  I am not fit nor comfortable in my skin.  Healthy is uncertain. I think I am, but probably not as healthy as I want to be.

I got to practice, skipped my favourite part of the warm up, and we got skating.

I had some issues with my foot – this is nothing new – I think I’ll just have to learn to live with the pain, or find a better insert or new skates or something.

But I practiced.

And I had a freaking blast.

I have a goal for the remainder of October.  My goal is to lose 10lbs.

My secondary goal is to hit 30 laps in the gym.  Tonight, I hit 28.  With a cramp in my leg (WTF IS UP WITH THAT?!?!?!).  The cramp that plagued me while trying to benchmark.  The cramp that is the bane of my derby existence.

But I will hit 30 laps by Nov 1.  And lose 10lbs.

I’m done with feeling like crap.  I have something exciting happening in the future and I want to be able to feel and look my best.  And next derby season?  I’m jamming.  Fuck this “I’m not a blocker” crap.

I’m a jammer.  And I’m going to jam at least half the games.

received_10153684676168052[1]

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Roller Derby and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

