Mayhem vs NCN

I played with Northern Mayhem this past weekend against Terrace in Terrace.

Northern Mayhem is a mash-up team of anyone in the North who wants to play and is willing to travel. So the team is NEVER the same. This was my first time playing with them.

Our team, this time, consisted of a number of North Stars, several of us in our 2nd season and a whole lot of brand new, just benchmarked this year, players.  There was a WIDE range of skills and experience and an enormous amount of enthusiasm and excitement.

I had so. much. fun.

Everyone was amazing.  Everyone worked their asses off.  Everyone did what they were supposed to.  Everyone was encouraging and supportive and the entire game was everything I love about derby.

I’m articulate, normally. I don’t normally have any difficulty expressing how I feel about something… but this weekend was so incredible I’m STILL riding on my derby high, even after a 9 hour drive on 4 hours sleep. I swear the excitement interferes with my ability to communicate.

Fucking amazing.

I learned so much from the North Stars and especially my line leader.  I felt as though my skills as a blocker increased and I took away some awesome drills to do at home to improve where I need to. I am so excited for practice tomorrow night.

12931072_10153387038681951_5129768035271255579_n

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Roller Derby, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

