Derby Fricken ROCKED!

My derby bestie couldn’t make it tonight. I don’t know what it is about Thursday practice, but I tend to bail on it.  So when she couldn’t make it tonight, I was… ambivalent. I don’t want to go. I want to go. I don’t. I do. I … went.

We did agility drills.  A lot of them. I walked on my toe stops.  Toe stops scare me.  Last time I really did toe stop drills, I fell on my head and ended up with a concussion. So toe stops scare me.

And I walked on them. I pushed myself to walk on them.  I pushed myself, ever so slightly, to bounce on them, just a little bit.

And we did a lot of edging drills.  And I pushed myself to bounce. And spin.  And shuffle. Just a tiny bit more than I have in the past. A bit more than before. I’ve been pushing myself more lately. Since I read this article. Just 1% more.

And I can feel the bit more I’m pushing changing me, changing my ability.  It’s changing how I look at and feel about the drills that I used to mentally refuse (and sometimes physically refuse) to do.

I hurt, and I push myself to finish.  I struggle, and the whistle blows and I take those 4 steps of double time while I sprint. And I do more, do it faster, do it harder.  Because I can put out just 1% more energy, just 1% more effort, just 1% more oomph.

It. Fricken. Rocks.

Did I mention I love derby?

Jane Bouting

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Roller Derby, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

