A Funny Thing Happened…

I got out of bed with my alarm (almost – I hit the snooze a couple times).

I got up, I put on workout clothes.

I went into my workout room.

I set up my music on my computer.

I mentally planned my run.  (2 mins warm up, alternating 1 min walk with 90 seconds run)

I thought I’d try something slightly different – instead of starting my runs at a higher mph – I’d build them up.  Start at 4, 4.5, 5, 5.5, 6.  Figured that would take me close to the 15 mins I had to run.

Let’s pause for a moment, shall we?  I have NEVER run anything more than 5mph.  That is my gold standard for the moment and I believe my top time at that was about a minute before I crapped out.

So letting that sink in…. I started my run.

Thought, 4mph, too slow.  I really need to run faster (who the hell is saying this? I don’t run FAST!! I barely shamble along!)

Easy recovery in the walk.

4.5mph… ok, getting there.  90 seconds is a bit of a struggle towards the end, but seriously do-able.

Slightly less easy recovery in the walk.

5mph… pushing myself here. Had my eye on the timer for the last 30 seconds telling myself “YOU CAN DO THIS! YOU CAN DO THIS!” And I MADE it to 90 seconds of running.

Walking… such relief.  What?  My minute is up already?

Ok, well screw this, I said I was doing 5.5mph.  30 seconds in my lungs are BURNING.  Sweat is dripping down my face. How the FUCK am I going to make 90 seconds?

Short answer is I don’t.  And that’s ok.  Because I just motherfucking RAN for at 5.5mph for a minute. A very long, painful minute.  Wait… my minute walk is over already?  Do I dare?

I’m not going to lie.  The thought of hitting the lovely 6mph button terrified me.  But I thought… what do I have to lose?  I gave myself an extra 15 seconds of recovery at my walk and then it was go time.  I can do 45 seconds at 6mph, right?

I was wrong.  Very wrong.

I can do a full MINUTE.

I took the last 2 mins to cool down.

And then… I marveled at myself.

I ran.  6mph.  For 60 full seconds.

And then… I did a minute plank.

Yeah.   A funny thing happened.  And I think it may happen again tomorrow.

Oh and…

I saw this number again this morning:

Scale August 5 2013

The funny thing is… I’ve never been a yo-yo dieter.  I’ve never lost then gained weight.  And in the last 3 1/2 years I lost 40lbs then gained them back.  I’m currently on the down trend again…. and this number is a happy one for me.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Health, Running, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

