Things, they are a’changing…

I have been quietly making changes.

6 days ago, I gave up sugar.  You know, the processed white stuff?  I call it poison.  Because it is.  It makes me tired, sluggish and fat.   I hate how I feel eating it.  I hate how I feel when I’m crashing.  I hate how I feel with it in my system.

So 6 days ago… I stopped.  I had one last coffee with sugar and cream, and called it a day.  A side effect of the sugar ban is the lack of coffee.  I can’t drink it without sugar. So.

I went through 3 days of hell.

Three days of headaches, tired beyond tired, and wondering what the hell I was doing it for.

And I kept it up.  Peppermint green tea curbed the caffeine cravings.   Smoothies with no sweetener curbed the intensity of the sugar cravings.

And now, it’s been 6 days.

There has been adjustments.  Changes.  Things that have surprised me.

  1. I have more energy.
  2. I sleep better.
  3. I have more stamina.
  4. I don’t crave it.
  5. I drink WAY more water.
  6. My mindset has changed with respect to other things.

Since the sugar exodus, I’m willing to try harder.

Roller derby practice? I push myself more.  I’m less likely to give up. I work harder.

But best of all… I don’t feel exhausted all the time.  I sleep, I wake, I make it through the day without falling asleep in my chair.

I’m saving money.  NO more donuts, drive through coffee (and fries), nothing.

Tonight?  I was ready for bed at 6.20.  Went to derby practice half hour later and pushed myself harder than I ever have.  Now, it’s an hour and a half past derby and I’m not feeling the post-derby crash.  I do have to go to bed though, I have an early class and tomorrow’s class is my blood pressure skills test.

But overall?

Best thing I’ve ever done.

I highly recommend it.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Diet, Exercise, Roller Derby and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things, they are a’changing…

  1. Big change but it will be worth it! I haven’t cut sugar as I like fruit but I turned vegetarian and the energy boost and health benefits have been great! Hope you continue to feel good!

    • sunnyjane says:

      I refuse to give up fruit. I may at some point, but right now fruit keeps me from killing anyone from lack of sweet. But I have given up all forms of white sugar as best I can.

Leave a Reply

