Goal Setting

In one of my LPN courses, we’re doing an assignment on goal setting.

Set a goal.  Meet the goal.  Cheer about meeting the goal. (I’m not sure it’s as easy as that, because I haven’t fully looked over the assignment.)

My problem?

Everytime I’ve set a goal for myself… I’ve let it drop.

“30 day challenge!!!”  gave up 12 days in.

“Lose 5lbs!” Ok, I once did that, but I’ve gained it back.

“Save $500” Ummm… *looks at the cobwebs in her wallet*

So for me, goal setting seems to have the opposite effect.  Or maybe I’m not motivated enough to meet that goal?  I don’t know.

But here I am.  Goal setting again.

On February 7, it’s our skills test for roller derby.   Because I took a season off, I’m retesting.   The struggle, as it always is, is the Derby Mile – 27 laps in 5 minutes.

That is my goal.

So – using SPR SMART:

Self-Controlable – Yep, this is all on me.
Public – HEY! I blogged about it!
Reward – I haven’t figured out this one yet.  What will my reward be for passing?

Specific – Skate 27 laps in 5 minutes.
Measurable – yep.  5 mins.  27 laps.
Attainable – Everyone tells me it is.  I think it is.
Realistic – Everyone tells me it is.
Timely – there is a definite timeline.

So there it is folks.   My goal – for my class assignment and for myself.

Pass the 27 in 5 on February 7.

To do this my plan is:

  1. Run on my treadmill every day I’m not at skating practice.
  2. My weight routine every day I’m not at practice.
  3. Clean eating.
  4. Lots of water, yo.

The added benefit of this is that I’ll lose weight.  That’s not my primary motivator – the 27 in 5 is – but it’s a benefit.

So hold me accountable, k?  I’m going to do this.  It’s 3 weeks of taking care of me and doing the things I need to do to get to the point I need to get.

I want to be this girl again.  She was strong.  She was getting fit.  And she is me.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

