Cardio – Evil Incarnate – Tamed

For those of you who know me, you know that cardio is the bane of my fitness existence.

I have tried and quit the C25K several times.  I have tried on my own. I have tried with a partner.  And I have pretty much been stuck on week 1 or week 2.  Never to pass into week 3.

It’s a 9 week program designed to get you from “not a runner” to “run 5k all in 1 go” by doing interval training.

For me, this has always been hell. I have never been able to stick with it because I *hate* to run.

I hate not being able to breathe.

I hate sweating.

I hate the way my boobs jiggle.

I hate the way my belly jiggles.

I hate the way nothing moves in sync.

I hate the fact that 3.5 or 4 on the treadmill is as fast as I can “run”

But tonight.  Tonight was a sweet sweet thing.

Tonight – I started my C25K again.  I started day 1.  Week 1.  And started with my run at 4.

It was too slow.  My heart rate was not getting up high enough.

I moved my next 6 runs (intervals, remember? 8 of them in the first day) to 4.5.  Heart rate is exactly where I want it to be.  Just around 154 bpm. At the low end of the “high” range according to the lovely little chart on the treadmill.

The best part about my run tonight?  The last interval of running.  I decided… fuck this shit. I stuck that sucker on 5.5… and I RAN it.

I, the girl who hates running with a passion… RAN at 5.5 for a minute.

FUCKING VICTORY!

I’m going to be pushing it a bit – either doubling the weeks or doing 2 weeks in 1 – but I want to run. I want to do the Mudd, Sweat, and Tears in Prince George 2016.   I want to do Tough Mudder.

I want to be fit.  I want to be healthy.  And I want to fucking NAIL the Derby Mile…

5.5.  I’m still in awe at myself.  I thought I’d be dying. I wasn’t looking forward to that run.  I told myself I was going to do it if it killed me, but I was dreading it.   And I still did 5.5 for a minute.

Tomorrow morning… Maybe I’ll do 5.5 for 2 of the runs :p

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

