Ready to Quit…

I’m struggling with derby this round of fresh meat.

Due to league rules, I have to re-benchmark.  I have to re-test.  I have to get 27 laps in 5 fricken minutes.

It’s a milestone I’ve never broke.  Last testing time, I squeaked by on a technicality that allowed me to do 25/5 and I got 25 1/2.

This time?  I’m pushing myself hard.

My problem is my body is arguing with me.

Cramps in the bottom of my feet.

Cramps in my entire left side of my body when skating 5 mins hard.

Cramps trying to bring me down.

Last night, in practice, I spent less than 10 minutes on skates before the bottoms of my feet hurt so bad I was almost in tears.

I skated to where my gear bag was, messaged a friend and said… “I hurt so bad I’m ready to quit”

Her response?  “Do something different then.  Barbells are fun.”

My response… in my head… was “FUCK THAT.  I LOVE PLAYING DERBY”

And then we did laps. I got 25 1/2 in 5 mins.  At about the 3 min mark, my entire body cramped up on the left side and I spent 2 mins sticky skating as fast as I could to just keep. moving.

I hurt, and I pushed myself because “Fuck you for telling me I should do something different!!”

I love her for it.  I pushed myself.  I went at it harder.  I had FUN.

My feet stopped hurting. I started skating. It was an awesome practice.

And I’m not ready to quit.  I’m not ready to give up something I haven’t actually done enough to retire from.  I want to play more.   And I need that push to make me work harder.

Thanks Sarah. 🙂 Love you!

Hiking with Sarah

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

