Changing How I Think About Food

I remember, as a quasi-adult, being at my mother’s house for an overnight and looking for a snack.

There was chicken in the fridge.

I went to eat it.   She had a bird.

“THAT’S NOT SNACK FOOD”

For my entire life, food has been categorized.

Eggs or cereal or pancakes/waffles for breakfast.

Sammiches or salad for lunch.

Some very large, meat/potato or grain/veggie based meal for dinner.

I call bullshit.

Food is food. It is fuel for your body.   Having a piece of chicken for a snack means my body is getting lean protein (leanish – her cooking methods back then were heavy on the oil and breading) instead of buttery sugary carbs.

I want to eat the best possible fuel for my body.

I had a talk with my kid the other day – he had bought himself another 2L of Pepsi.

SO I asked him.  “If you had a ferarri, would you put the cheapest possible gas you could into that amazing performance engine?  Or would you put the premium, very expensive fuel in?”

Of course he said the premium fuel.

“So WHY,” I asked, “would you put crap fuel into YOUR body? Why not put premium fuel in?”

We’ve had a couple talks since then.

And once my work contract ends, I’ll put a lot of focus on the fuel we put into our bodies.

But I’m going to put as much premium fuel into my body as possible.

This morning?  My fuel is a squash/apple dish.  That’s almost everything that’s in it.   Total ingredients?  Squash, apples, onion, cinnamon, nutmeg.  Premium fuel.

And it’s fucking GOOD.

eat-real-food

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Diet, Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

