Staying Healthy in Fire Camp (not as easy as you think)

I’m in Fire Camp.

For those who don’t know (and I certainly didn’t until last year), fire camp is a camp set up for the fire fighters and admin staff who are supporting the suppression efforts on fires.

Usually it’s because the fire was not conveniently located near a fire centre or base and as it usually goes with such inconsiderate fires, we’ve got it all set up in the middle of nowhere.

Trailers to work in. Ranger tents to sleep in. Personal tents if we prefer. Kitchen. Bathrooms. Showers. It’s a little town away from home.   Everything you could want.

Food is catered. Laundry is done for us. Bathrooms and trailers cleaned for us.

And the food… oh. my. gawd. The food.

It is catered and planned for the fire fighters. High energy, high calorie and full of fat and sustenance to keep them going. Because they need it.

I don’t.

I need about 1/3 of the calorie/fat intake they do.

But OH. MY. GAWD. It’s good.

So… trying to stay on my eating plan. Trying to stay within calories. Trying to not gain 10lbs like I did the last time.

The reality is that if I ate everything that they offer, I’d gain way more than 10lbs. I’d probably gain at least 20. (did I mention there’s ALWAYS cookies and baked goods?)

And then there’s dessert. Every. Single. Day.

We’re not talking some chintzy little thing. We’re talking a bowl FULL of trifle. Or apple pie/ice cream. Or chocolate brownie surprise.

It’s decadent.

Deserts are my weakness.

This time around – I’m determined to, at the very least, not gain any weight. I’d like to ideally lose some weight.

There’s water available at all times.

There’s fruit available at all times.

There’s a salad option at all times.

There’s the option of taking smaller portion sizes.

There’s a LOT of options I have for not gaining weight. And I’m going to exercise those options.

The other thing – where we’re situated – there’s a 10 min walk to the river. And at the river I can sit and relax and just enjoy 15 minutes of peace.

So my goal is 2x a day, walk to that spot on the river. I’m seriously contemplating setting up my tent down there and walking into work – it would force me to walk there and back at least 2x.   If I don’t set up my tent there – at the very least I’ll do a morning and evening walk.

And avoid the deserts.

Because in the end, it’s about the choices I make, not about what options are presented to me. Regardless of the options – I can always make good choices.

Choices

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Diet, Exercise, Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

