Be the Person You Want to Date

Yeah I get this is my fitness blog – that it doesn’t have anything to do with *dating* per se…. but you see, the person I want to date is not me.

I want to date someone who is active.

I want to date someone who has a full life.

I want to date someone who has a good balance of physcial activity and relaxation.

I want to date someone who is just as comfortable going on a 5-10km hike as they are snuggled up on the couch watching a movie with a glass of wine.

It occurred to me, in the middle of my grief storm that I was not it.

And if *I* don’t want to date the person I am – what makes me think the person I’m looking for wants to date ME?

The reality is – no one is going to push me to do this journey.   No one is going to say to me on a daily basis “hey – lets go get physical” they’re just going to bypass me.

It’s not that I think I have to be thin to date – I know I don’t.  It’s that the things *I* want out of a potential partner?  They’re the things I’m not… yet.

So if I want that person that like to go on hikes, I better get my ass hiking.

If I want the person who likes to work in the garden, I better get gardening.

If I want to find the person who likes to go to the gym, I’d better get there.

If I want the person who likes to be involved in community activities, I’d better get doing them.

BECAUSE THAT’S WHERE I’LL FIND THAT PERSON!!

I won’t find them on my couch, watching my tv, or in my own little home gym.

I’ll find them in the places I want to go with them.

My big epiphany:  be the person you want to date.  Because if you don’t – you’ll become Julia Roberts in Runaway Bride who had no idea what kind of eggs she liked.  Or you’ll be come me, who let a man try to make her small and cut out vital parts of her personality.

Jane Bouting Uncomfortable We Believe

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Depression, Exercise, Fitness, Grief, Self-esteem, Widow and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

