It’s A Derby Kind Of Night

Oh hey, what’s that?  Skating?  Me?

Yep.  I was.

2 weeks of influenza.

Homework piled up and keeping me from skating.

Broke-assed and couldn’t pay my dues.

And so I almost quit.  Not quit quit.  But just stopped skating, until school was over.

But then I realized… if I quit… I’m probably not going to go back.

I’ll be travelling in May, or I’ll go back to work an hour away from home.  And there will be another reason.  And another excuse.  And then… I’ll hit the end of season and wonder WTF?  Where did it go?

I was the consistent player.  I was the one who SHOWED UP to every single practice.  I made it a priority.  Every. Single. Time.

One of my friends who used to play derby (she moved over to crossfit) said to me once that she would LOVE to have me on her team because I keep. freaking. going.

And I almost let it go.  For what?

Derby keeps me sane.

I’m not where I want to be.  I’m physically not as fit as I was at the end of last season.   I seem to have trouble with some of my skills.

But I’ll get there again.

I’ll get back to the point of fit.  But in the meantime… I get to keep going.

Derby rocks my life.  It’ keeps me sane.  And I – I will be amazing at it.

For now – I’ll just keep going.

Jane Bouting

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Health, Roller Derby, Self-esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

