Roller Derby Ruined Recreational Skating

I went to Roller Disco on Saturday night.

It was a fundraiser for Rated PG Rollergirls.

It was fricking AWESOME.

But roller derby has ruined recreational skating for me.

I was skating around, and I wanted to flip around and skate backwards, I wanted to dance around a little bit…and I kinda freaked out.

I WASN’T WEARING ANY SAFETY GEAR!!!

wTf!!!

I couldn’t relax on skates – I was too worried about falling.  I had no protective gear on!!

I went to stop in the middle of the track and the HABIT was to take a knee.  The HABIT was to put my knee down on the floor.  Only… I HAD NO GEAR ON!!!

Do you KNOW how hard it is to stop yourself mid-knee slide?  To NOT rely on the (non-existent) knee pads to protect you when your knee is about to hit the floor?

Yeah.  Exercise in “how strong are Jane’s butt muscles” happened in that moment.

I feel safe with my gear on.  I feel good about what I do.  And then I took it off.

I remember skating without gear on.  I remember roller blading in North Vancouver, down the hills, no helmet, no gear, just skates and a lack of self-preservation.

I also remember the *CRACK* as my helmeted head hit the floor attempting a spin.

I remember the *CRACK* as my helmeted head hit the floor when I was attempting a toe stop drill.

I remember having to stay silent and dark for days after.

I remember having to stay off skates for weeks after.

And now… I am not comfortable without gear on.

Roller derby ruined recreational skating for me.  I’m looking forward to skating tomorrow night – I’m going to swap out my indoor wheels for my outdoor wheels… get my skate on.

Or, I’ll do the off skate workout that we’re going to do instead if the outdoor track is wet.

But… I will skate with gear on – because I don’t like being without it.

2014-05-31 Moshin Momma

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

