Seriously Sore. Seriously Happy.

Gotta love bangovers.

Oh… what’s a bangover?

It’s that feeling you have after a derby bout.  After you’ve been hit over and over and over and over…. and gone back for more.

Tonight was Wreck the Halls – a scrimmage/bout that I played in… with the Prince George team, and some of my team.

I got on my skates, I skated first jam… and thought to myself… “oh frick.  I’m not ready for this”

And almost talked myself out of playing.

And then… this lovely man on our team (yep, co-ed, totally awesome) said to me… “You were great out there!  You just got in their way and you moved from side to side quickly”

Ummmm … what?

What was that? Because THAT is not how I was feeling.  I was feeling uncoordinated, gangly and flail-ly (is that a word?)

But his words did something magical.  You see… I felt awful about my skating.   And then he said that… and I had confidence.

Enough that when the others were tired, I took the star.   I *volunteered* to jam.

Yeah.  Me.  Who thought she couldn’t skate well enough at the BEGINNING of the bout, felt strong enough to JAM.

Uh huh.

I got through the pack.

I could see in the corner of my eye, an opposing blocker coming in for the hit.   I braced… and gave a bit of a hit back.   She learned I’m not so easy to move… (she also landed on her butt – I hope she’s ok)  and I hustled around the track.

I got through the track.   I got tired.  I was wearing out.  And my team yelled at me to call it off…

BUT I’M NOT THE LEAD JAMMER!!

But I called it off anyhow.

Aaaaaannnnddddd got a penalty.   Delay of game or something like that.   (on a side note, how is that I called it, my ref responded and whistled the end… and *I* am the one getting the penalty?? LOL)

I served my time.

I get back into the pack.

I’m trying to get through, and I feel it… someone tripping over my foot.

Aaaaannnnndddd… I got another penalty.

Yep.  Back to the box.

Next jam comes… and just as the penalty is being released…. the whistles blow…

There was a couple mins of “does she have to play or can anyone jam?”

Oh. My. Gawd.  Thank goodness someone else was able to jam.

I had so much fun out there… but I was seriously worn out by the end of it.

I’ve come to 2 conclusions as a result of this.

1. I need to do cardio.   I need my body to be able to move fast, move hard and keep going after being pushed around because….
2. I want to jam.   I want to be one of the jammers people don’t expect.  I want to be the one who  can take out the opposite jammer off the line and muscle her way through and get the points.   I’m not bouncy.  I’m solid and I’m tough and I’m a force to be reckoned with.

So cardio.  Weights.   Cardio.  HIIT.   Cardio.  And more cardio.

Because I am going to freaking ROCK this.

Off the Line

There’s me in the purple helmet, off the line.   Photo Credit to Lori Kroeker.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seriously Sore. Seriously Happy.

  1. Pingback: Link Shovin' 21-12-2014 - Cats vs Xmas Trees, Squat Problems & Bangovers! - 909's Fresh Meat Tips

Leave a Reply

