Derby Kicked My ASS!

I love derby.  Have I mentioned how much I love derby?

Yeah, I haven’t been going to derby, despite my assertations that I WANTED to go to derby.

There was always a reason.

There was always an excuse.

And some of them were GOOD.

Tonight though?  Liz picked me up.  I promised her I would go.  I told her to come pick me up. I need derby.

She picked me up.

We went to derby.

The “warm up” (and I use that term loosely) just about killed me.   And then we skated.

I am not my weight.  I know I am not my weight.  But when I add 30lbs to my body, I feel it.  I hurt. I can’t skate as far as fast or as well.

And I struggled tonight.   But I did it.  I pushed myself.  And I will continue to go, to push myself, to drop the 30lbs I gained and get to where I want to be.

But derby kicked my ass tonight.  And I loved every minute.

Even when I was complaining.

Even when Liz *snickered* at me and said “perhaps you should come more often….”

Ummm yeah.

Jane Bouting

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

