Practice Last Night

I hadn’t been at practice since the bout.  To be fair – there had only been one practice since then – but prior to the bout, I hadn’t been at many practices either. 

I get to the arena and it’s hot.  Really hot.  Damn hot.  (insert Robin Williams from Good Morning Vietnam here lol)

And I’m already dehydrated. 

Drink my water. 

Get more water. 

And do the warm up.

I was a tiny bit worried about heat exhaustion – so I didn’t push myself as hard as I normally do during warm up – I was already fairly warm. 

And then Coach starts our practice with laps.   The dreaded 27 in 5.   Only… I don’t dread it anymore. 

I wasn’t pushing myself.  I had eaten a huge meal just before practice (BAD MOVE!!!).  I was overheated.  I was tired. 

I still got 25 without pushing.  If I had pushed I probably could have gotten 2 – 3 laps more without TOO much effort. 

Because I had coasted for a while – and at the end, after I hit 25… I just… rolled for about 10 seconds.  

Don’t get me wrong – I was moving hard.  I pushed myself to move when I didn’t want to.

But I could have pushed harder.  I could have made 27 fairly easily. 

Next time?  I’m going to push, just that tiny bit harder, to see how fast I can go. 

Next time… I’m going to bring more water LMFAO. 

It was a good practice.  It’s nice to feel strong and powerful.   I’ve been feeling lost and weak lately. 

Thanks Coach. 

Jane Bouting

 

 

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Practice Last Night

  1. Eenie Meanie says:

    It’s that time of year where we all forget how important water is. You totally aren’t alone in that.

Leave a Reply

