Oh the PAIN…

Have I ever mentioned I love derby?

I feel like I’m not improving.  I’m probably pissing off my coach (or she at least thinks I’m some whiner who needs constant validation) by asking her… “do I look like I’m doing ok?”

I don’t – it’s just that I feel at the end of a practice like I’ve worked my ass off – I’m tired, I’m sore, and I am scared to strap on skates because I’ll fall on my head my muscles ache so much.

So I wonder – am I improving? Because I feel like I’m still struggling.

I remembered, just tonight after getting home and having a moment for it to percolate in my brain, being at a Raw Meat practice with Eightmean Wheeler.

Someone asked her if it ever got any easier.

Her answer? No.  Because if you’re doing it right, you just keep pushing yourself harder, and at the end of practice you are exhausted and sore.

I’m exhausted and sore.  I’m so ready for bed.  Practice was awesome – and I just kept pushing myself to go further, harder, faster, more precise, make sure I know where my jammer is, lift my damn feet and use my edges to prevent getting pushed out of the way, and for the love of all that’s good and holy… REFORM THE FREAKING WALL.

Loved it tonight.  We have an awesome coach 🙂

It's Working

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

