Perfectionism Can Suck It

I struggle with perfectionism. I have a bad case of “if I can’t do it right, I don’t want to do it” and that leads me to not doing a lot of things. Including working out, eating healthy and a whole host of other life things.

This morning, for the first time in I don’t know how long, I got up WITH my alarm and did my workout. I have two awesome people to thank for that: Rebecca and Leanne. Knowing that my phone would ring and probably wake up the man, I set my alarm 5 minutes before the expected call time. I was out of bed, dressed and loading up workouts when Rebecca called.

Leanne is the text to make sure I’m actually DOING the workout that I got up for – it’s so easy to get sucked into facebook and whatever.

So at the beginning of round 2 – she texts and I respond. We go back and forth and throughout the convo, she reminds me that part of the journey is learning that it is ok to not be perfect.

I’m dying on round 3. I hurt. I can probably do round 4 but I’ll be limping tomorrow and derby will be out of the question.

My perfectionism is screeching at me that I need to do that last round of exercises. It’s telling me that I’ve failed. It’s telling me that I’m never going to meet my goals. That I’m never going to measure up. All because I only did 3 rounds instead of 4.

My perfectionism can suck it.

I fucking succeeded this morning. I got up. I worked out. I was accountable to not only 2 other people but to myself.

I kept my promise to myself.

But it’s that perfectionism that keeps me feeling like I can’t do this. But I know I can.

I suspect that there’s a few other people out there that struggle with this too so I thought I’d put it out there. Even as I write this, my brain is telling me to finish the damn workout already… but I AM finished.  And THAT’S OK.

If it's Important To You

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Fitness, One Fit Widow and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

