I am an Athlete

At 235lbs, you wouldn’t normally hear someone say “I am an athlete.”

But I am.

I am because I am focussed on where I want to be.

I am fit.

I am healthy.

I am a runner.

I am a blocker and can jam for my derby team.

I am an athlete.

I refuse to be anything else.

Because I am worth it.

wide-width-running-shoes

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I am an Athlete

  1. Taylor says:

    Hi Jane,

    What a powerful posts! Being an “athlete” doesn’t mean that you’re a certain weight or physique; in my opinion, being an “athlete” is a mentality. If you run, then you’re a “runner”, if you enjoy walking as a form of exercise, then you’re a “walker”.

    I am what I think I am, and if I’m thinking about fitness and working out consistently then who’s to say that I’m not an “athlete”. I’m so glad I found your posts today. thanks for the extra boosts of motivation!

    Taylor

Leave a Reply

