Start of Day

In every (what I call) reputable weight loss/get fit/get healthy program I’ve seen/heard about/read about, there is one consistency:  Eat Breakfast.

In 1FW the recommendation is eat breakfast (including a protein) and drink at least one glass of water within the first hour of getting up.

Here’s my problem:

I don’t have the cognitive skills first thing in the morning to cook myself breakfast or plan a meal.

Boxed cereal looks good – but it’s not clean, nor does it have the protein requirement.

If I start cooking eggs – the kids will want some and then that’s a BIG production (I have 5 boys to get ready in the morning) and I also have to make lunches, herd the kids in the right directions and perhaps shower.

Oatmeal (especially with egg whites) is a hit or miss with the boys in my house – and if I start cooking it for me… well… see the problem?

So I’ve been sorta avoiding the whole breakfast in the morning thing.

This results in being STARVED by 9am when the caffeine has kicked in and I finally have time and space to cook something for myself.

Not good. Not good.

This morning I switched my thinking around a bit.  There’s nothing saying I have to have a full on meal first thing.

Oh wait!  Light bulb!!!

light bulb

 

I can have a… SNACK!

20 almonds and a banana.   Some protein.  Some good fat.  Some good fibre.  Some good sugar.

And 3 cups of water (my water bottle holds that – so I just drink one bottle of water).

And finally my coffee.

Yeah.  Better start to the day.  Fueling my body.

We’re not going to talk about the 4.30am alarm that’s been going off lately…. LOL

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Diet, One Fit Widow and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Start of Day

  1. Georgina says:

    Make breakfast the night before! Sounds daft, but it works. I make up a batch of oats with yogurt and fruit and then I can just grab a serving and shove it in my face in the morning with hardly any thought. What about having some hard-boiled eggs in the fridge so you can just munch on one without the performance of cooking eggs for five in the morning?

Leave a Reply

