Effing Concussion

Tonight was my first derby practice since I hit my head.  I was so freaking excited about going and playing on the concrete floor.

I pulled out my bin o’gear.

I swapped my wheels to indoor wheels.

I tried on my Siren’s uniform.

I took a picture of me in it.

I cried a bit realizing I’d never wear it as a Siren.

I swapped out the top for a different one.

I went to derby practice.

Beginning of practice went well.

I was keeping up with the expected pace for warm up.

And then…  I don’t know what happened.

I started getting dizzy.

And then my head started hurting.

And started hurting more.

And it felt exactly like the headache I had after I hit my head 4 1/2 weeks ago.

I did not gear up.

I’m so freaking pissed off about it.

I was looking forward to being on skates – I need derby like I need to breathe.  I need the break.  I need the physicality.  I need to skate.

And it didn’t happen.

So yeah.  I’m not happy about this.   It’s suggested I should go to the doctor this week because the headache came back.

I may go.  I may not.  It depends on if I wake up with a headache tomorrow.

Sirens Uniform

So this is me, in my Siren’s uniform – probably the last time I’ll wear it – but I wanted to see how it looked on me.  Next time I take a picture it will be in my Gold Pain Uniform…

*sigh*

Time to chill again… I want to be on skates… but my brain is more important…

 

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Health, Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

