Derby Stance

There’s nothing like seeing yourself in action to realize that you have TERRIBLE derby stance.

One of the refs at my *very first official bout* posted this video from his helmet cam.

I am on the black team – wearing purple tights and a purple helmet.

I’ve watched this a few times now.  The one thing that gets me is how stiff-legged I am.  I need more bounce in my knees.

Squats, baby squats…

And lunges.

And tuck jumps.

And lateral hops.

And high knees.

And… MORE CORE.

I’m aware of my weaknesses – and working on correcting them.

I’m painfully MORE aware after watching that video LOL

Over the next few weeks of practice, since I can’t do contact and the rest of the team is going to be preparing for the bout – I’m going to focus on derby stance and getting low..and then getting lower.

The VERY FIRST skill for a skater is skating posture – and I’ve let that slide.

Jane BoutingMe: good posture.

2014-02-15 GP vs PGMe: not so good posture.

I tend to bend at my hips and waist rather than my knees.   I’m aware and focusing on bending at my knees even when not on skates – I want it to be my first go to rather than bending at the waist and putting myself off balance.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Derby Stance

  1. Kathy Dunlop says:

    Very cool to see a video with you in action even if you still need some improvement. Practice makes perfection

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

