Da Pain! Da Pain!!

Ohhhh da pain…

Note to self (aka PSA): If you’ve been necessarily sedentary for 2 weeks due to a minor head injury, choosing to walk for approximately 3 hours will cause your muscles to rebel, to hurt, to ache and to stiffen up.

Oh da pain!

I can barely move right now.

Yesterday, due to not having a vehicle, I walked from my house to my doctor’s appointment (20 minutes) and then over to the bank, the lawyer, the hair dresser and back home. (40 minutes).

Then I walked with boys to their dentist appointment (25 minutes – same distance as the doc, but they walk slower) and back (another 25 minutes).

I seriously considered skipping derby practice that was actually dryland training.

I didn’t.

We did a 5km loop.

During those 5kms, we did a couple minutes of speed walking, a couple minutes of light jogging, a couple minutes of back lunges, front lunges, kick your but running, grapevines, side … lunges? (where you stay in squat but take big steps sideways) and then more jogging, more speed walking, more jogging, more speed walking.

During part of the practice, I got to the point of running where my lungs were burning… and I remember Ange telling me that I just needed to keep going through it – that eventually my lungs will realize they CAN breathe through this.

I pushed myself hard.

Yeah.  I hurt today.

It’s a good hurt. An awesome hurt.  Reminiscent of climbing the Chief hurt.

Today – I’m going to attempt yoga to stretch things out.

I’ll take my doggies for another walk.

But for now… ohhhhhhhhh da pain!!!

It's Working

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

