Epic Practice

There were 4 of us at practice tonight.

None of us in a fantastic mood…  none of us wanted to be there… all of us willing to bail on practice.

Our coach said “Let’s do warm up and then if no one else shows up we’ll go”

So we did warm up.  20 mins of jogging and dynamic stretching.

Got a sweat on.

And then we’re standing there… everyone saying “I don’t care if we practice”  until finally one of us said… “Ok, let’s skate.”

So we skated.

We practiced agility – clomp stomping (stopping with heels turned out using steps – more effective than plow stops), side stepping & hopping, boom stops.   Basically bouncing around on our skates.

We did cardio workouts.

And in the end… everyone’s glad they stayed to skate.

I didn’t quite feel like I was drowning anymore.  I didn’t quite feel like things were falling apart as badly.

I still feel like the big heavy blanket is weighing me down… but I it’s not *quite* as heavy as before practice.

I keep showing up.  It’s all I can do right now.  Show up and hold on for dear life…

Roller derby keeps me going.  One day at a time.  I can only go for that tiny bit of hope right now.

But it WAS an epic practice.  It was exactly what I needed.   With exactly the right people there.

2014-02-15 GP vs PG

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Depression, Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

