Owning the Toe Stops

Derby

 

See those things up there ^^^^^^ right at the front of the skates?  Not the wheels – but the TOE STOPS.

The things that like to trip people up if they’re punting or not paying attention.

There’s some pretty cool things you can do if you’re comfortable bouncing around on your toe stops.   Suddenly you’ve got way more agility, way more movement, and way more stability.

Plus you can do some REALLY AWESOME STOPS.

I practised the duck run because the toe stop run hurt my feet.

I made excuses not to learn how to start off running on my toe stops.  I made excuses for not practising tomahawk stops.

I avoided the toe stops like the plague.  They were there.  I owned good ones.  I just… pretended I didn’t have any.

And then… I went to sk8fest in Prince George.   It was a 1/2 day boot camp/skills testing/scrimmage that was freaking AWESOME.

And they had me do this tripod run.

Suddenly… I have toe stops.

I own them.  They’re mine.  I can jump on them.  Squat on them.  Walk on them.

I can even tomahawk stop…. sort of.  🙂

But regardless… I’m starting to have a new appreciation for toe stops.

And I own them.

 

 

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

