I’m the Girl Who Failed P.E….

…. TWICE

Grade 8 PE.

Two times I failed.

Yeah – that was me – the girl who was too fat to run, too out of shape to participate, too cool to bring gym strip.

And so I failed grade 8 PE twice.

The sad part is I remember running in one of the mandated runs…and my legs burning and no one EVER explaining to me that if I drank more WATER, I’d likely not suffer as much.  That if I learned to control my breathing, cardio would get easier.

I thought that I just couldn’t run.

That I couldn’t participate.

I had a mantra “I’m strong, but have no endurance”

You know that saying, you are what you eat?  Well you are what you tell yourself.  Whether you think you can or you can’t, you’re right.

I remember running with Angie and thinking I’d never get to running for any length of time – the most I’d make it is 2 – 3 minutes.

Well… tonight I ran a mile in 13.41.

Ran for 6 minutes straight before having to drop it back to a fast walk.  Then after 90 seconds, back to the run.

I ran.

For 6. Freaking. Minutes.

Me.

The girl who failed PE twice.

Ran.

Oh yeah baby… I’m strong AND I have endurance.  I’ve got it all 🙂

And running is awesome.  I really really like it.   Can’t wait to get up tomorrow and go for another run 😀

wide-width-running-shoes

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, One Fit Widow, Running, Self-esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m the Girl Who Failed P.E….

  1. sghamlett says:

    Congratulations! I love running. I hate it when people think I run just to lose weight or stay thin because running is so much more than weight lose. It truly is about self-empowerment. Welcome to the wonderful world of running.

Leave a Reply

