MOVE THE TREADMILL!

So I have the equivalent of a gym in my basement.

I have a treadmill.

A weight bench.

Dumbells.  Barbell.  Weights.

I’ve lived in this house for 4 months.

Guess how many times I’ve used the treadmill???

Yep, you’re right.  None.   Until tonight, that is.

Tonight, I decided to go for a half hour run.   On my treadmill because its -9 (16 for y’all in the US) outside and there’s LOTS of snow out.

First time I’ve used it.

Discovered… that it’s in the wrong spot.   Right where I run, it’s a short spot in the basement.   There’s a header?  Ballast?  Something lower and boxed in and drywalled over that makes it 6 ft instead of 8 ft.   You know – where all the ducting runs for the furnace.

Right where I run.   I wasn’t THAT close to hitting it – but it made me a bit uncomfortable.

So yeah.  Move the treadmill.  Somewhere I’ll have an 8ft ceiling to run under LOL

I did a 30 min interval based run.  Warm up, run 90 seconds at 3mph, then 30 seconds at 5mph.  Repeat.  Over and over.  Hit the cool down at 1 min left (I had a vague memory that it doesn’t give me an automatic cool down and I wanted one)  and walked for another 4 mins at 2.5 then 1.2 mph. (that’s REALLY FREAKING SLOW Y’ALL!!)

Walked/ran 1.81 miles.

Around 8 mins left in the run – so about 22 mins in – I discovered something.  I wanted the run part to last longer and the walk part to be shorter.  I wanted to go faster longer.   I didn’t push it.  I tend to push myself and burn out, and overall, that was a nice run/walk.  Got sweaty. Feel good.  Going to stretch.

But I like running.  I really like running.  It’s fun. It’s not fun like derby is fun but I can see me doing more of it.  A LOT more of it.

Why don’t I run more?   Oh yeah.  I feel like I don’t have the time.

Meh.  I know I do.  And I love how I wide-width-running-shoes

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

