A Part Of Me

Roller derby is just becoming a part of who I am.

I still am very excited about it.  I still love it.  But it’s just becoming a part of who I am.

Last night, during checkout after practice, I realized that despite having several successes with the skill I’m least comfortable with… I wasn’t bouncy and OMGOMGOMGOMG and want to share it with the world.

I was comfortable with the fact that I’m learning new stuff, that I’m mastering skillz.

Don’t get me wrong… when I master that skill, I’m going to bounce off the freaking wall.

But derby is part of who I am now.  It’s not something external to me, its me.  Regardless of anything else, I’m a roller derby girl.   I’m a skater.  I’m Jezebelle (although I’ve been thinking about changing my derby name… more on that later)

I don’t get the same “SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE” I did – but it’s more of a quiet celebration of the things I can do.

Derby is who I am.  Derby is how I feel.  Derby is a part of me.

Jane Bouting

 

Photo credit to Herb Martin (I’m gonna say that I don’t know that the link is the correct Herb – but I think it is) LOL

 

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Roller Derby, Self-esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

