My First Derby Bout

We’re not going to talk about the bruise on my right hip.

Or the bruise on my left hip.

Or my sore shoulder.

Or my sore back.

Because, however much I am hurting… none of that matters.

Waiting to Skate

I played my first derby bout last night.

I was the pivot.  (LOVED IT!!)

I was a blocker (LOVED IT!!)

I was the jammer (Didn’t so much love it but I have a new appreciation for jammers now.)

I played every. other. jam.

I played hard.

I played fast.

The organizer of the Sk8fest boot camp let me play despite not passing my 27 in 5.

“It’s a rookie bout, it won’t be that fast”

Famous last words.  LMFAO

I don’t think I’ve skated that fast or hard ever.

I hit.  I was hit.  I held the line.  I got a penalty for cutting.  I knocked the other jammer out of bounds.

I have more experience than the other rookies in skating and derby strategy so in the 2nd period – I started making strategy decisions.   And they worked.

I managed to confuse the rookie refs.

We held our own better in the 2nd half.

I realized, somewhere after the first few jams, after I wasn’t so confused as to what was going on IN the jam, that this is what I have been waiting for.  This is what I have been training for.  This is where I belong.

This was my first derby bout.  The first of MANY.

My mind never shuts up.   When I’m playing derby, when I’m skating and now especially when I’m bouting, my focus is on skating, on pushing myself, on working with my team.

It shuts my brain up.  I have complete peace and focus for the time I’m playing.   It’s something I get so rarely – it resets me, recharges me and leaves me feeling good about myself and my life.

Skating First Bout

 

Derby freaking rocks.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

