Improvements….

The fresh meat are practising with the benchmarked skaters.

We’re not doing contact – the space we’re in is too small for that.  But we’re doing a lot of positional blocking and wall drills and footwork.

We’re learning a LOT.

Our warm up – in both benchmarked and freshmeat practices – involves 20 mins of cardio.

Then there’s some skating stuff.   A LOT of skating stuff.

And we’re not given that many breaks.  We’re expected to SKATE for the 2 hours – with the occasional water break.

I remember skating with the Sirens.  Stopping because I was out of breath.  Stopping because my feet hurt.  Stopping more than I needed to.  Not pushing myself.

And it occurred to me last night as I was jogging around the gym during the warm up.

I’M KEEPING UP.

I’m not as fast as the other skaters.  I pace myself.  I want to keep going.  I don’t want to have to pull off to the side and rest.  I want to keep going.

And I AM keeping up.

I’m pushing myself.

I’m doing the cardio.

I’m not dying and gasping for breath.

I’m keeping up.

I’m FUCKING KEEPING UP.

I was 270lbs a few months ago.

I know now that the weight doesn’t matter.  The size doesn’t matter.

But being able to keep up with my team – THAT fucking matters!

Family Pain Train

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, One Fit Widow, Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

