Amazing On So Many Levels

Tonight was transformative and amazing on so many levels – its hard to figure out where to start with describing it…

I think I’ll start with the laps.

Every practice we do endurance.  Every. Single. Practice.   5 minutes, skate as fast as you can and see if you can make that 27 laps.

Every practice.

Did I mention its 5 minutes of skating hard?

So last January at skillz testing – I think I got 23.   We were supposed to get 25.  I didn’t.

I took the season off, and didn’t really skate for 9 months.

So every practice we hit 5 minutes of skating… and tonight, I got 28 3/4 laps.

Oh and I got 28 3/4 laps even though I FELL on my 24th lap!!!

I have Stan Daside and Eight Mean Wheeler to thank for giving me the tips that I keep in my head while I’m skating.  Because of their coaching, I am a stronger skater and I KNOW I can do this. 

I am no longer worried about the endurance test.   I’ve got this.   I feel STRONG.  I feel fucking AMAZING. On so many levels.

I Will Be Fierce

 

And then… there was the fact that I didn’t want to be there.

Derby time, and I’m crying. My kid is crying.  My kitchen is a disaster.  I need to have a conversation with the boyfriend who’s going on nights for the next 4 days which means I don’t get to really see him for the next 4 days.

Roxanne shows up…. and after I get the crying kid calmed down, I head to derby.

I was resisting.  But Roxanne knew I needed it.  Mike knew I needed it.  My crying kid knew I needed it.

I forgot how much I needed it.

I forgot one basic rule…. Skate it out.

Skate it Out

 

And the last thing I learned, but most certainly not the least; in fact, it may be the most important.

For 3 years, I’ve been skating with a team that does an on skate warm up.   For 3 years, I’ve spent the first half to three quarters of an hour of practice in pain.  For 3 years, I’d finally get to the point where my body wasn’t fighting me just as it was time to go home from practice.

But I loved derby.  So I persevered.

I hurt, I pushed I kept moving.

And then I took the season off derby.  And then I moved.

I joined up with derby in my new home.   And they run practices differently.  We do a 20 minute off skate warm up every single time.

And I whined about it.  Only in my head, mind you, but I whined, none the less.

But I did it.  And I did it to the best of my ability.

Tonight, with all the drama going on in my house, I missed my warm up.  There was this gleeful little part of me that was bouncing up and down over missing it – I could just jump straight into skating.

And I did.

And within 5 minutes… I hurt. I hurt in all the places I hurt skating before.  My back was protesting.  My thighs were protesting.

And when we did the endurance test… I got a cramp in my

AsianWildAss

 

… the same freaking cramp that killed me on every skillz test I’d taken before.

I learned something extremely valuable tonight.   I NEED that off skate warm up to skate at my best.

Derby Stance

I can’t wait until next practice.  I am SO friggen excited to be skating again.  I am pumped about being the best I can be and pushing myself as hard as I can.

I love how I feel right now – I’m walking on air – flying on endorphin and accomplishment highs.

Derby rocks my socks off….  I wish I could adequately express how amazing I feel.  How confident.  How strong.  How powerful.

What makes you feel that way?

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Roller Derby, Self-esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Amazing On So Many Levels

  1. sghamlett says:

    Running is what does it for me. I hate running on a track but love setting out on the road. My mantra when I’m whining about not feeling like I want to run is “I can do a mile.” Once I get to a mile it’s all golden; I feel strong. I keep going and whatever problems that seemed insurmountable before the run become incredibly manageable. Times when I feel stressed and overwhelmed are always the times when I haven’t been allowing myself a run. For me the equation is simple Running=Feeling Good.

Leave a Reply

