Derby Rocks!ll

This may come as a bit of a surprise to all my readers (ok who am I kidding???) but derby freaking ROCKS.

I’m sure people in other sports think the same thing.  They think cycling, or slo-pitch, or hockey or whatever rocks.

And I get why.

There is something freaking AMAZING about pushing your body to do something, knowing that it’s an unfamiliar action, and your body DOES IT!!

There’s something sublime about your body finally *getting* it, not just doing it, but getting it so that it’s now a natural, easy thing and you don’t have to think about it.

There’s something incredible about sitting with a group of women, most of whom you didn’t know before derby, and they are your team, your friends, your family.

Every practice, I push myself on a skill I need to work on.  Speed, endurance, reverse crossovers, transitions, skating backwards… something.

Last night, it was speed/endurance and reverse crossovers.

By the end of the night, my body was doing the reverse crossovers… and almost at that point of doing it without thinking.

We did laps in our tiny little practice space (not quite regulation track sized – the outside on the straightaways is the walls and we’re a bit short on either end) and I got 25 1/2.

I get that it’s not regulation sized on the outside of the track, but it is on the inside and for me, that means that I got 25 1/2 freaking laps!!

On October 20, we go back to the regulation track.   The first time I was on there, I made almost 23 laps.   I want to break 26 this time.   I can FEEL it coming.  I can FEEL my body finding the rhythm and movement.

I’m sitting on the edge of the precipice, and I am so excited to see how it feels to be on the other side.

Derby rocks my world.  It gives me focus. It gives me strength.

Most of all – it gives me confidence in myself and my abilities.

DERBY JANE

 

I’m going to get someone to take another picture of me…. I want to see how my body has changed since this picture….

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Roller Derby, Self-esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

