It Started With A Birthday

My son’s 12th birthday was on the 27th of Sept.   Because of all the changes – Dad dying, moved to a new town, left all his friends behind – I decided to go a bit more overboard than I usually do for birthday parties.

First, dinner out (usually it’s a dinner in, birthday boy’s choice) at a Chinese restaurant.   Do you know how many good choices there are at a Chinese restaurant?

Almost none.

Do you know how many chemically laden, msg-added, options there are?

A whole lot.

Plus one of my favourites.   Sweet and sour pork.

So, birthday boy’s dinner…. and I had to eat.

And then the birthday party – at a bowling alley with DQ ice cream cake for the birthday boy.

Yeah.  I did.

And work the next day?  Saturday means the office pays for lunch.  WOOT!  Except there’s not a lot of choices… and I didn’t make a good one.

The week went downhill from there.

Last weekend was worse.   Dinner last night was amazing but totally not clean.  Mexican Casserole.  Quick.  Easy.  And oh. so. good.   2 helpings.  Yeah. I did.

Over the past week, I’ve noticed:

  • Immediate headaches after eating
  • Lethargy
  • Pain in my joints
  • Insomnia
  • Bloating

My body hasn’t liked the food I’ve fueled it with.

I changed my routine this morning.  Got up with my boyfriend.  Made myself a protein shake.  Did my dips for the dip challenge on onefitwidow.com.   Planned dinner.

Tonight is derby.  I’m looking forward to pushing my body as far as it can go…and then pushing it a tiny bit further.

It all started with a birthday…and thinking “I’ll be ok this once” and then a week slide into unhealthy.

For the time being… it has to be as close to 100% compliance as possible.   I can’t have “just one night” because I don’t yet have the habits to adjust the next day.

Lose-Belly-Fat-No-more-excuses

 

No excuses.  No regrets.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Diet, Exercise, One Fit Widow, Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

