Habits

I am a creature of habit.

I go to bed at about the same time.  I wake up at about the same time.  I tend to eat the same foods.  I like to go for a walk along the same paths.  I follow routines.

There’s a touch of OCD attached to my habits.  For instance, I get out of my vehicle and my keys HAVE to be in my hand for me to lock and close the door.  Even if I put them in my purse 10 seconds prior, I still have to dig them out and hold them to be able to close and lock the door.

Some habits serve me well.   I rarely lock my keys in my vehicle.

Some habits, do not.

One habit that I’m in the process of breaking is the 10pm snack.   Boys tucked in, I have few minutes to myself, I’m sitting down with my computer and a glass of water and… I’m looking for a snack.

Usually – in the past – that snack would be cookies, chips, ice cream.

Tonight, although I have an extra 51 calories left in my day, I stopped, took stock of what was going on for me, and realize I wasn’t hungry.   It was habitually looking for food.

I turned off the kitchen light and sat down with my laptop and water.

I wonder how many other times I’ve eaten because of habit, boredom or whatever?

Tonight, I win.  The habit may not be broken, but it’s certainly weakened.

Uncomfortable

 

What habits are you trying to break?

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Diet, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

