Food and the World

I don’t have to eat what everyone else eats.

When my husband was alive, we were on the same page (for the most part) about food and what to eat.   Whether it was following a healthy diet or whether we were having chips and chocolate and pop cravings.   We did it together.

Then he died and I was left to make all the decisions myself for our boys.

I ate the way I was comfortable with, and somewhat tortured the boys with what I wanted to eat.

Salad and grilled meat mostly.

You see, I’m not a short order cook.  You eat what I cook.  I do take into account different tastes.   For instance, I have a friend who doesn’t do fruit with meat and when he comes over for dinner, I won’t cook fruit with meat when I have so many other options.   But when it comes to my kids, its a “pick it out” mentality.  Or make yourself a peanut butter and jam sandwich because I am not a short order cook.

Now, I’m in a new relationship, living in a new home with him and my boys and suddenly I have to take into account HIS likes and dislikes and particular ways of eating.

Including his late night snacks.   And his particularly delicious way of cooking.

For the past month, I’ve been eating the way HE eats because he said bluntly “I like salad but not every night”

Ok then.  I stopped serving salad for a couple weeks.

Then I had a phone call with my personal trainer/coach/mentor peoples.   And I realized… I don’t have to eat the way he does.  I can cook a meal, and then add a massive salad to mine.  I can cook dinner and modify mine so it fits with my clean eating.

It was a bit of a personal revelation.  It was freeing.  It was empowering.

It’s not a struggle now.  No matter where I am or what I’m doing, I can make choices based on what’s best for ME regardless of what anyone else is doing.

Breakfast eat-real-food

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Diet, One Fit Widow, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food and the World

  1. kim says:

    I love reading your blog. I struggle with trying to make everyone happy at meal time. I struggle with my waistline. I struggle to teach my daughter how to eat right. Maybe an extra side of salad is just what I need. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

