Oh Derby How I’ve MIssed Thee….

Let me count the ways….

1. The comraderie.
2. The new family
3. The challenge
4. The burning in my thighs
5. The pain in my lower back
6. Being out of breath
7. Plow stops
8. The sweaty gear stink
9. The encouragement
10. Watching someone learn something new
11. 27 in 5
12. The endorphins
13. Crossovers
14. Knowing that even 8 months off skates my skills didn’t disappear.

I have really missed derby in only one way.  All of it.

Derby rocks.   I love the philosophy of my new team, the coach is awesome, and the fresh meat and seasoned players are all friendly and inclusive.

Derby freaking rocks.

I’ve missed derby… I’ve missed the fire and desire I have for derby.  I found it again tonight.

Derby Skate - Nicholas Charest

 

Image courtesy of Nicholas Charest.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

