A Body In Motion

Newton’s 1st law of motion states (and I paraphrase):  A body in motion stays in motion; a body at rest stays at rest.

So how does this all translate to fitness?

The more I “rest” and take it easy… the easier it is to rest.

The more I “move” and exercise… the easier it is to move.

So for the last 2 weeks – I stayed at rest.  I hung out on the couch, in bed, in a car… and for the most part, did not move.

And then today… I went for a walk.

I had been walking with a co-worker for a couple weeks prior to my vacation.  I was able to keep up with her.  I was able to do a 5km walk in under an hour.

Today, I struggled.  Today, I hurt.  My body was NOT happy to be in motion – it wanted to be at rest.

But I want to be in motion. I want to be fit and healthy and active and bendy.  Especially bendy.

When Mark was in the ICU – the nurses and PAC’s would talk about the work it would take to get him back to pre-ICU fitness.   The general consensus that I remember was that for every 1 day in bed, it would take 2 days to get back.

He was in the hospital 159 days – had he come home that day – it would have taken him 318 days – almost a year – minimum JUST to get back to where he was prior to his hospital admittance.

A body at rest.

I don’t think it will take me that long for me to get back to where I was pre-vacation.   But I do know that each day I choose to sit and do nothing… It will take me that much longer to get to where I want to be.

It’s a bit of a catch-22… I don’t have the energy to exercise – but if I exercise – I have more energy.

Some days, I’m just really grateful for my co-worker who pushes me to walk.  And walk faster.  And do it again.

Who, by the way, is looking fan-freaking-TASTIC with all the work she’s doing to get herself in shape.

We Believe

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Self-esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Body In Motion

  1. Judy says:

    Hi Sunnyjane, I am a recent widow also. I have gained a ton of weight since my husband died. I am trying to get myself back on track, but it is really hard. Like you said, a body at rest stays at rest. It is comforting to come home from work and open up the cookies and zone out on the internet and TV. I don’t have to think about the fact that my husband is dead and is never coming home.

Leave a Reply

