One Fit Widow

I was at Camp Widow last weekend in San Diego.  I caught a few great workshops – but the one I caught that I didn’t plan on (in fact wasn’t signed up for) was the “What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger” workshop.

It was put on by Michelle S of One Fit Widow.

Like everyone else at Camp Widow, she’s also a widow.  Her husband died in 2009, and instead of turning to food or alcohol, she turned to fitness to manage her pain and sorrow.

I took the class because my roommate was taking it.  I didn’t think I’d get anything out of it.  I *know* this stuff.  Really.  I do.  I can talk a really great talk.  I know what to do.

Sometimes though, I just need to hear it from someone else.

The people that inspire me the most are the people who’ve BEEN there.

Jillian Michaels has always been my trainer of choice.  And now Michelle.   She’s BEEN there on several different levels.  She’s a widow.  She gets it.  And she was overweight and lost a significant amount.

I will be looking a bit more closely at One Fit Widow when I have a minute or two.  I have been so overwhelmingly busy between Camp Widow, a trip to Quesnel and demands on my time that I just haven’t taken any time for *me*.

I need to take time for me.  I need to take care of myself and not get sucked into the “busyness” of life – I can centre myself better and manage my depression and anxiety better if I do.

Exercise Underutilized

 

I’m on vacation right now and that’s no excuse not to put myself first, to eat unhealthy or to ignore my body’s needs for exercise.   Sometime today – I WILL get out on skates and I WILL do some yoga.  I need it.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Depression, Exercise and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

