Yoga and piriformis

Oh yeah.  That’s the stuff.  Yoga is going to be my new obsession…

Yesterday, talking about piriformis, I had a couple comments about making sure that’s what it really is,  getting a second opinion, seeing a physio and in general, just be sure I’m not doing more damage.

This morning, I got up and did some yoga.   Actually, as I type, I”m watching the remainder of today’s yoga workout.. they’re very… fit… people 😛

I don’t know if you remember, but I have a yoga set called the “Blissology Project”

So I’ve always had the ‘start at the beginning’ mentality.  I can’t start yoga on a FRIDAY… the program is Monday – Weekend!!!  So for all the time I’ve owned this dvd set – I’ve never made it to Friday.

Friday is strengthen and stretch.   I figured, why not? Jump right in.   Don’t wait until Monday.  Let’s go! Got up and put the dvd in right after I made coffee.

It hurt.  I’m not going to lie.  I had problems doing the poses.  I stopped part way through.   I was looking for an all over stretch, not a strengthen & torture my abs workout.

Don’t get me wrong – I want to strengthen.  I want to do this.  But I want to get my body back into it and stretch the piriformis.

So I’m enjoying watching the yogi’s do the workout I’ll try again next Friday.

The poses I did complete helped enormously.  There may be other issues in my hip and leg – but for now, the stretching and movement seem to be the solution.

I woke up in pain… and now I’m not after the little bit of yoga I did.

Crap – they’re doing my favourite pose.   I’ll have to do that one before getting ready for the day.

But anyhow – for now it seems I’m heading in the right direction.

I’m kinda shocked though – how much I *can’t* do anymore.  I’ve lots a LOT of flexibility and a LOT of what I had when I was exercising on a regular basis.  Time to get that back.

Downward Dog

 

How I think I look Planking

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

