Piriformis

So for a couple weeks I’ve been having this pain in my hip.   The pain would be sort of an achy pain something bearable but occasionally sharpening up to something I couldn’t really handle.

I figured… I’m getting older.  It’s arthritis in my hip.  I’ll move past it, keep exercising, keep some range of motion, don’t let it seize up and keep me immobile.

The pain got worse.

Then it got worse.

Then it travelled down my leg, into my knee, down my calf and into my ankle.

I stopped moving.

It got worse.

It hurt more.

It would leave me breathless, unable to walk on my right leg, unable to think.

It would wake me in the middle of the night.

Finally, I gave in and started taking the opiates left over from my deceased husband because I couldn’t sleep and I couldn’t handle the pain.  (There were 3 left – I took half at a time)

Today, I saw my doctor.   Explained the pain.   He told me what it was.  I couldn’t remember each time I went to look it up.  It just kept skittering across my brain to be lost in the cobwebs of my short term recall.

Finally remembered.  And looked it up.

Turns out its something that I can do something about.  It’s something I can do something about by doing something I love doing – yoga.

Piriformis syndrome. 

I’m not convinced that what’s going on for me is piriformis syndrome – but I’m willing to do yoga for a while and see if it helps.

The pain is causing me to not move.  I don’t walk far, I don’t skate, I don’t do much of anything except hurt.

So I’ll do something about it.   Yoga – which I want to do regularly anyhow.

The stretches to help with the piriformis are stretches I already like to do anyhow.

The reverse pigeon is fantastic – there’s an awesome variation in this video

The pigeon is great too – this article gives a great outline of how to stretch as well as how to strengthen.

So what does this all mean?

It means that the pain in my ass has now travelled down my leg.   Also, it means that I have to do yoga more often (like every day) to stretch this muscle out.   Finally, it means that I can fix this – it’s not too late – yet.

I’m starting to understand what Mark went through.  I can’t imagine living with this level of pain in my ENTIRE body, all day, every day, for years.   I don’t want to and unless I do something about it – I will.

Time to get stretching.

Roller Skates

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Health, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

