Pain

There are several people who have been credited with saying something along the lines of:

Nothing changes until the pain of staying the same outweighs the pain of change.

It’s easy to stay the same.  To follow the same course.  To do what you’ve always done.  Another saying I’ve heard (and used) frequently:

If nothing changes, nothing changes.

If we don’t change anything, everything will stay the same. 

If I get up every morning at 6.30am and choose to sit on my computer instead of going for a run, my weight will stay the same.

If I consistently choose less than healthy foods over fresh, raw, unprocessed foods, my health will stay the same (or slowly worsen).

If I stare at the same load of laundry for a week, my house will never get clean.

If I change nothing, nothing will change.

It’s easy to stay stagnant.  Just don’t do anything.

I have been stood up 3 times this last week for my morning run.   2 times this last week, instead of going for a run anyhow, I’ve sat on my computer and played around.  2 times this last week I’ve done nothing different than the days when I DON’T have a running partner.

My weight hasn’t changed.   My energy levels haven’t changed.

Today was day 3 of being stood up.  I didn’t run.  But I did other exercises – spent 20 minutes on core work.

Today I changed something.

Tomorrow, instead of staying in bed until last minute, I’ll get up and put on one of my dvd’s.

Tomorrow I’ll change something.

I can’t do fitness only when I have a partner.  I can’t do exercise only when someone is cheering me on.  I need to do it for myself, by myself, regardless of whether I have someone to run or walk with.

Before Mark died, I exercised for him. he was there to encourage me, to push me, to keep me motivated.

Then he died.

I stopped moving.  Every part of my life stopped.

Slowly, ever so slowly, I got back into movement because friends have been encouraging and supporting and pushing me.  But lately, I’ve been bailed on.

I can’t rely on someone else to be my motivation.

Last night, a friend came over, and we chattered about exercise, motivation, and I realized.. I HAVE to do it for me.  I HAVE to do it because I need to get fit and healthy.

I hate seeing myself in a mirror.
I hate seeing myself naked.
I hate the way my belly and butt look in the pictures that were taken of me that I get so many compliments on.
I hate constantly being mistaken for being smaller than I am.
I hate the way my belly flops on the top of my thighs when I walk or run.
I hate the aches and pains in my hips and joints for no good reason.
I hate walking up a flight of stairs and being winded.
I hate not feeling good about myself.

Roller Skates

 

I felt good about myself until I actually saw the pictures.  In my head – I am much smaller than in real life.

The pain of staying the same is OVERWHELMING compared to the pain of change.

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Self-esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pain

  1. Marcia Stehouwer says:

    Good to see you writing again – You’ve pulled through a long, cold lonely winter in more ways than one. You’re right though, we need to be willing to exercise alone – when a friend comes along that’s a bonus. Keep it up!

  2. Nikka says:

    If you do nothing, nothing will change. Do something now if you want to change something. Just like me, I’m now starting doing anything just to change myself especially that I hate seeing myself in the mirror with a big body. Getting fit and be healthy too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

