Boston Marathon

By now, the world has heard about the Boston Marathon tragedy.   My heart goes out to the families and victims… I can’t imagine the shock and horror they must have felt and continue to feel.

I’m registered for the Vancouver Sun Run on Sunday.  My running partner sent me a text on Tuesday morning:

“Howe comfortable r u doing the sun run after boston bombing?”

(bear in mind that Sunday night I didn’t get home until 2.30am, got up, went to work, went to volunteer at the derby bout in Whistler, didn’t get home until 11pm and was running on almost no sleep)

My response: “I was fine until you said that :O”

“You?”

She was.  She is. “Kind of worried”  She’s not a city girl at the best of times.  She gets cranky in the city. So add the stress of “what if” and her mind went squirrely.

I texted: “What do you want to do?”

Her response: “Honestly I don’t want to take the chance my life is kind of important”

Me:  “Makes sense to me”

We texted back and forth about other things…

Her: “So our final answer to the run is no?”

Me: Do you need me to say no?  LOL. I’m good with skipping this year and doing it next year or doing whatever in May”

Her: “Yes, I need you to say no hahah 😀 i am like that! lol”

Me: “Then no”

The reality is is that it doesn’t matter where we run.  Yeah, we wanted to do the Sun Run.  Yeah, I wanted to say I finished.  But Sunday morning, when thousands of people are running in blue and yellow solidarity with Boston… I’ll be doing either 8 or 12k of trail running… ok, walking… but I’ll be doing it.    Just outside my front door.

I sadly can imagine what its like to lose someone.  I can’t image what it’s like to lose someone so suddenly and violently.

My heart goes out to each and every one of those who were affected by the Boston Marathon bombings…. I’ll be running my trails in something blue for you on Sunday.

Boston Marathon

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Boston Marathon

  1. sghamlett says:

    It doesn’t matter where you’re running, as long as you’re running. I’m planning on running this Sunday with a new group of runners I met on a local train. I hope someone out there sees us running and gets inspired to run. Isn’t inspiration what the Boston Marathon was about? It’s still a marathon I aspire to run and will run someday.

Leave a Reply

