Early Morning…

I know… seems silly.  I got up and exercised this morning.

I’ve been talking myself out of it lately.  Spending more time online than anywhere.

This morning – I knew Ang was coming over to take me out for a walk/run (I’d like to say run but really we speed walk) and I haven’t gotten up with my 5.30 alarm… oh… ever…  and this morning when it went off I hit the snooze button and lay on my bed.

“Don’t fall asleep, don’t fall asleep”

See, Ang was coming over for 5.45am.  My alarm was set for 5.30am.  My alarm has this nifty feature where you can set how long your snooze button is.  Mine is set for 15 minutes.

After 6 minutes, I bolt out of bed, panicked that I might have overslept and the door would be locked and who knows if she has her cell phone with her?

Get up, get dressed, have a coffee, check facebook.  5.45am comes…and goes.

I breathe a sigh of relief… she slept in.   I can do some yoga or something.

5.50am, she walks in the door.

Ok, I think.  I can do this.

We head out for our walk/run.  I haven’t exercised in I don’t know how long.   I have forgotten to do my squat challenge & plank challenge.

But I move.  I move fast.  I didn’t actually do any running, but I walked at a VERY brisk pace – our normally 1 hour walk took us about 45 minutes.

We get back to my house… and tabata.  This is a 4 minute high intensity interval thing.   I suggest to Ang that we do 25 burpees and our squats and the plank.

Ok, we actually did 10 burpees (I need to do those more often!!)  but we did our squats (100!!! WOOT!) and she did a minute plank – but I did 40 seconds.

I got up.  I did what I planned – exercise then get my kids up and get moving.  I kept my promise to myself. 

I even went to bed at a reasonable hour so I dont’ feel like I didn’t get any sleep last night.

I’m looking forward to tomorrow – yoga 🙂  Oh and get someone to measure me so I can see where I am in measurements.. 🙂

Working OUt vs Sleeping In

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Running, Tracking Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Early Morning…

  1. Rose Chimera says:

    Good for you! One day at a time, right? But…uh…so…those “sit ups” I do every morning to hit snooze button and lay back down don’t really count, do they? 😉

Leave a Reply

