We are Stronger than the Mountain!

We hiked the Chief today.

The Group

 

There were 3 adults, 9 kids.  We were out numbered 3 to 1 😉  Good thing the kids never figured that out LOL.

We hit the trail at Shannon Falls to get to the Chief, and half way there, I was thinking about quitting.  I didn’t.

I’m not sure if it was the 5 drinks and 3 shots I had; the lack of sleep I got, or just the extra 15 lbs I’ve put on, but it was painful trying to hike.  I was *tired* and did NOT want to do that.

Then my 11 year old started complaining about being tired, about hurting, about this about that, about everything…

I kept encouraging him to keep going.   He’s my bookworm.  My kid who will sit with a book outside rather than running around and playing. My kid who has 6 – 8 open books on the side table near his bed.  The kid who is not into sports.

And suddenly the thought hit me.

If I quit, I’m giving my kids permission to quit.   I’m giving them permission to stop because it got too hard.  I’m giving them permission to be lazy.

“Luke,” I said… “We’re stronger than the mountain.  We can do this”

I repeated that to him a LOT while we hiked.   We’re stronger than the mountain.

Eventually we lagged behind… he and I going at a pace that worked for us, stopping when we needed to, going when we can.

We caught up to our friends – had a snack and a rest and carried on.   The view from the top is beautiful – the sun was shining and there was a light breeze to keep us cool.

We are stronger than the mountain.

My knee gave out on the way down.  Usually I can bounce down the mountain at almost double the pace of when I go up. I limped down.  As I write this, I am sitting on the couch with an ice pack on that knee.

We reached the bottom of the mountain and Luke looked at me and said “Good job Mom!”  I told him he did a good job too – that I was proud of him for persevering.

We’re stronger than the mountain, Luke.

 

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Family Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We are Stronger than the Mountain!

  1. Cindy says:

    Hurray for you and Luke, such an achievement!

Leave a Reply

