She Bailed on Me

Ok ok, it was her first time sleeping in in…. ummm…. crap I really have no idea.  But with kids activities, and working at 8am, and life…. she didn’t get to sleep in much, if ever.

So I don’t really blame her that on the first day she gets to sleep in in who knows how long, that she bailed on me.

I talked to her on Facebook last night.  With it being 9 months today since Mark passed, I have a renewed commitment to getting healthy and getting to a healthy weight.   I asked her if she’d be getting up early to exercise, and her answer was…  I don’t know, I should.

So I invited her to yoga at my house at 6.30am.   She agreed, told me I needed to have coffee on, I said I’d have everything cued up and ready to go, and then we both went to bed.

My alarm went off at 5.30.  I snoozed it twice, making it 6am before I got up.

Bleary eyed, I stumbled into my kitchen, taking care not to wake or step on the children in my room.   (I swear they’d like me to just create a room we can all live in)

I fumbled about, making the coffee, searching for some workout clothes because silly me, I neglected to put those out the night before.

Found the clothes.   Realized the clean bras were on the line … outside.   Rummage through the dirty laundry for a bra.   Coffee’s ready, get dressed, it’s 6.30.

She’s not here.

I write some.  I blog.  I email a friend.  I text another friend.  Finally – knowing that my yoga options were 45 mins or 27 mins on this dvd, knowing that I needed to get myself in the shower by 7.45 at the latest, I turned on the 27 minute yoga workout at 6.58am.

She’s not here.

27 minutes later, I’m refreshed, stretched out, painfully reminded of how much mobility I lost in my last couple months of inactivity and ready to get my work day started.

She’s not here.

It’s now 7.29am.  I’m going to finish my coffee, grab another, and have some breakfast.   I will jump into the shower for a quickie, and head to work at 8.10 to get there for 8.50.

Today, I’m going for a half hour walk.

She didn’t show up.   I still did.   I’m not doing this for anyone else, I’m doing it for me.  For my children.  To honour my husband.  So I’m here.  And I’m sweaty.

Today marks 9 months since my husband passed.   Today marks the start of my new life.

Working OUt vs Sleeping In

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to She Bailed on Me

Leave a Reply

