Been Sick

Dropped the derby practices on Tuesday, intended to make other changes in my life and by Wednesday night… I was sick.

I tried to ignore it most of Wednesday – I did pretty well, I think, but by the time craft night hit – I was done… And Thursday I woke up with a full on influenza.

No – I didn’t get the flu shot this year.  Last year I got it – we qualified for the free shots.   Mark’s illnesses meant that he needed to be protected so we got the flu shot every year.   Actually – we missed it one year and everyone got the flu so we made sure that was the last time we missed it.

I missed it this year.

I get it. I really really get it.  We’ll get the freaking flu shot EVERY. FREAKING. YEAR.

I don’t like being sick.  It means that I have no energy to work out, to clean my house, I’m too sick to work and my life stopped.

It really didn’t help that my friends either got sick too, or avoided me like the plague because I was sick.  (I don’t blame em – I’d avoid me too!!!)

It’s been a week since I’ve done any real exercise.   A freaking WEEK.

My body is soooooooo antsy.

Do you know what happens to me when I lay in bed for 4 days because of illness?

My hips hurt.  My body hurts.  My shoulders hurt.

I hurt.  I don’t feel flexible or healthy or fit in any way.  I don’t feel good or feel like I look good or feel like I am in any way sexy.

I’m done with this.  But I need to treat my body well and let it rest while it needs to.

This blog is about health and fitness – not just fitness.  Anyone can get fit – anyone can physically push their body to lose weight and get skinny – but I want to be healthy as well.

That means resting as long as my body needs to.

Mentally though?  I need my house clean – it’s driving me crazy to see the mess all over the place.

So tonight is about balance.   Tonight I will do a bit of puttering, 5 minutes at a time (or maybe a set of commercials at a time) and get my house clean, slowly, while I continue to rest and relax.

And by the time the show I’m watching is over – I’ll have a clean-ish house – and I’ll feel better about doing not much tomorrow.

I can’t wait to get out there and exercise again though…

Summer Holidaze

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

