Keeping Promises

I am worthy of having a promise kept to me.   I expect it.  Not only that, I expect that I will keep the promises that I make to others.

Keeping promises is important to me.  I need others to know I’m reliable, and I need to know others are reliable.

Last night, I was invited to go for a run with Angela at 6.15 this morning.   I was all set to go (Ok not THRILLED but I was going to go) until I got a reminder that I was hiking with Adriana this morning.   So Ang went on her run alone.

This morning, Adriana cancelled on me.   No biggie – we had coffee.

Except, now, I haven’t had any exercise.   I had planned on it. I wanted to do it.  But everything I planned fell apart through happenstance.

As it happened, I received a note from my derby buddy as to how to build endurance for the 25 in 5.   The idea is to build up to 25 burpees… apparently 8mean Wheeler says they’re best for bout endurance.   Ok.  I can do that.

AND I got this workout in my email a few days ago.  I’ve been wanting to do it.  Somehow, haven’t found 7 minutes to do it.

I promised myself this morning I would do the burpees and the 7 minutes in Heaven workout.

I told Angela I was going to do it.

I told Adriana I was going to do it.

And this evening, I told Salisha I was going to do it.

I have made a promise to myself, and my friends, that I will do this workout.

It’s now 10.50pm – my bedtime is 10 minutes away.    I have cleaned 75% of the kitchen, made my boys’ lunches and the cupcakes are baking.    I have 20 minutes to do a workout. (ok  less now because I took the time to write the blog)

20 minutes is all I need to do 25 burpees (I’m don’t think I’ll actually get to 25 but I’m going to give it my all) and 7 Minutes in Heaven.

So, at 10.51pm – at a time I would normally say is too late – I am going to go put on some pants appropriate to jumping around and do my lovely little workout.

Because I’m worth keeping a promise to.

If it's Important To You

About sunnyjane

On a journey of fitness, health and healing. One blog focuses primarily on health & fitness (sunnyjane.wordpress.com) and the other is about my path through widowhood (widowspath.wordpress.com) Life is a Journey. I'm learning to enjoy the ride.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keeping Promises

  1. Marcia Stehouwer says:

    You are indeed. I had the same experience, getting out of my warm bed to do a 5 minute walk – just so I could put a sticker on my calendar! Enjoy your day!

Leave a Reply

